On this page 14
Our verdict
Genuinely hands-off, non-custodial and cheap for small balances. But the AI is undocumented, performance and AUM claims are unaudited, independent reviews are almost absent, and the 5% yearly fee above $10,000 turns it into one of the costliest options for larger accounts.
Best for: Passive investors with roughly $2,500 to $10,000 who want a managed strategy and accept unverifiable returns.
Key takeaways
- Run by Cindicator Ltd (Gibraltar, founded 2015). Strategies trade your own exchange account; funds never leave it.
- Pricing: $24 / $39 / $66 a month, or $149 / $239 / $399 a year, capped at $2,500 / $5,000 / $10,000 balances.
- Above $10,000 you pay an extra 5% a year on the excess: about 4.5% of a $20k portfolio and 4.8% of $50k on annual billing.
- AUM, client count and track record are self-reported and unaudited; Trustpilot is closed to new reviews.
This Stoic AI review is for people who do not want to build or babysit a bot. Stoic sells managed strategies: you choose one, connect an exchange account with a trade-only API key, and its algorithms trade for you. There are no grids to set or rules to write. That simplicity is the product, and it is why Stoic is often recommended to beginners.
The two questions that matter are what you are actually paying, especially once your balance passes $10,000, and how much of the "AI" and the track record you can verify. We checked stoic.ai and its FAQ and the Trustpilot profile on 21 October 2026.
Stoic AI review at a glance
| Item | What we found |
|---|---|
| Official site | stoic.ai ↗ |
| Company | Cindicator Ltd, Gibraltar, founded 2015 |
| Model | Managed strategies on your own exchange account (non-custodial) |
| Strategies | AI Crypto Index, Meta, BTC Yield, Fixed Income, Superforecaster (on request) |
| AI | Quant, rules-based algorithms; ML specifics not disclosed |
| Exchanges | Binance (Global and US), Bybit, Coinbase, KuCoin, Crypto.com, Hyperliquid |
| Price | $24 to $66/mo, or $149 to $399/yr; +5%/yr above $10k |
| Minimum | $500 ($1,000 for some strategies) |
| Apps | Web, iOS, Android |
| Trustpilot | 3 reviews, new reviews temporarily closed (21 Oct 2026) |
What Stoic AI is, and who it suits
Stoic is closer to a robo-adviser than a bot platform. Cindicator's researchers design the strategies; you pick one that matches your risk appetite and Stoic runs it on your account. You cannot edit the logic, but you can revoke the key at any time.
That makes it a good fit for people who want crypto exposure managed by a system rather than by their own impulses, and who would otherwise do nothing or panic-trade. It is a poor fit for anyone who wants control, wants to understand exactly why each trade happened, or has a large portfolio, for reasons the fee maths below makes clear. If you want to build your own rules instead, see Coinrule or Cryptohopper.
Stoic AI strategies explained
| Strategy | What it does | Risk profile |
|---|---|---|
| AI Crypto Index | Long-only basket of coins, rebalanced periodically | Moves with the market; falls in bear markets |
| Meta | Long/short, combines 200+ sub-strategies | Can short; more complex and opaque |
| BTC Yield | Automated bitcoin yield strategy | Exposed to BTC price and exchange risk |
| Fixed Income | Funding-rate carry; "4–20% APY target" | Target only; funding can turn negative |
| Superforecaster | Available on request | Not publicly described in detail |
The 4–20% APY on Fixed Income is a vendor target, not a verified or guaranteed return. Funding-rate carry earns when perpetual futures pay longs or shorts a positive funding rate; it can lose when funding flips or prices gap. The AI Crypto Index is long-only, so in a crypto bear market it will fall with everything else; rebalancing does not change that.
How much AI is in Stoic AI?
The name says AI. The site itself describes quantitative, rules-based algorithms developed by researchers. Stoic does not disclose any machine-learning model, training data, feature set or retraining schedule. That does not make the strategies bad; plenty of systematic funds run rule-based models rather than neural networks. It does mean the AI label tells you little.
We rate Stoic as rule-based on our five-level scale, which is why its Real AI sub-score is 3.0, the lowest of the bots we review. Regulators have started acting on overstated AI claims: in March 2024 the SEC fined two advisers $400,000 in total for "AI washing". We are not suggesting Stoic did anything comparable, only that the label alone should not drive your choice. Our guide on how AI crypto trading bots work shows what real ML disclosure looks like.
Stoic AI pricing
From stoic.ai on 21 October 2026. Yearly billing is far cheaper; Stoic says you "save up to 50%". There is no performance fee.
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly | Balance cap | Yearly cost at cap |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $24 | $149 | $2,500 | 6.0% (yearly) · 11.5% (monthly) |
| Plus | $39 | $239 | $5,000 | 4.8% · 9.4% |
| Pro | $66 | $399 | $10,000 | 4.0% · 7.9% |
| Above $10k | Pro + 5%/yr on the excess | Pro + 5%/yr | Up to $100k | See table below |
| Above $100k | Special terms | — | — | Not published |
Notice the right-hand column. Even at each plan's cap, Stoic costs 4% to 6% a year on yearly billing, and 8% to 11.5% if you pay monthly. Smaller balances inside a tier cost even more as a percentage: $149 on a $1,000 account is 14.9%.
What Stoic AI really costs above $10,000
Above $10,000, the FAQ says portfolios "stay on the Pro plan plus a 5% yearly fee on the value above $10,000". Here is what that means in dollars, assuming the balance stays flat for the year. Stoic does not say on the pricing FAQ how often the balance is measured for this fee.
Stoic AI yearly cost by portfolio size (balance assumed flat)
| Portfolio | Pro (yearly) | 5% on excess | Total per year | Share of portfolio | Monthly-billing total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $10,000 | $399 | $0 | $399 | 4.0% | $792 (7.9%) |
| $20,000 | $399 | $500 | $899 | 4.5% | $1,292 (6.5%) |
| $50,000 | $399 | $2,000 | $2,399 | 4.8% | $2,792 (5.6%) |
So a $50,000 portfolio pays about $2,400 a year on yearly billing. The strategy must earn roughly 4.8% after exchange fees just for you to break even, and the percentage keeps creeping towards 5% as the balance grows. For comparison, a flat $29-a-month bot subscription is $348 a year at any balance. Stoic is cheap for small accounts and expensive for large ones. Use our trading bot ROI calculator to compare with your own numbers.
Supported exchanges and minimums
Stoic lists Binance (Global and US), Bybit, Coinbase, KuCoin, Crypto.com and Hyperliquid. The minimum account size is $500 for most strategies; Meta and BTC Yield on Binance, and Meta on Hyperliquid, need $1,000. Check that your exchange serves your country; for example, Binance restricted EU services in July 2026.
Security and API keys
This is Stoic's strong side. It connects through API keys with read and trade permissions only, no withdrawal. Your funds stay on the exchange, and you can revoke the key at any time to cut Stoic off. The site mentions an "encrypted system" without details. There is no publicly reported security incident in our research.
The residual risk sits with the exchange holding your funds, and with any leaked key being used for bad trades. Use a dedicated sub-account, add an IP whitelist if Stoic provides addresses for your exchange, and enable 2FA.
Keep the money Stoic does not manage somewhere regulated
Stoic trades only the account you connect, so it makes sense to keep that account to the strategy budget and hold the rest elsewhere. CEX.IO has operated since 2013, is a FinCEN-registered MSB with money transmitter licences in 39 US states plus DC, and is FCA-registered in the UK. It is not one of Stoic's supported exchanges and has no bots, so use it for buying and holding.
Registrations checked October 2026 on the company's legal pages. Availability depends on your country; crypto is high-risk.
- Since 2013One of the longest-running crypto exchanges still operating
source - 39 US states + DCFinCEN-registered MSB with state money transmitter licences (NMLS 1804170)
source - FCA-registeredUK cryptoasset business under the MLRs, FRN 1007192
source - PCI DSS Level 1Card-payment security standard, 2026 certificate published
source
Track record, AUM claims and reviews
Stoic says Cindicator has about $230M in cumulative AUM, 20,000+ clients and a 6-year live track record. All three are self-reported and, as far as we can find, unaudited. "Cumulative AUM" is also an unusual metric: it can add up money that came and went over years, so it says little about what is managed today.
Independent user feedback is thin. On 21 October 2026 Stoic's Trustpilot profile had only 3 reviews, with new reviews temporarily closed, so there is no TrustScore. Stoic's own site shows an aggregate of 3.8 out of 5 from 1,599 ratings; the source of that aggregate is not clear. Treat it as marketing until you know where it comes from.
Stoic AI pros and cons
What works
- Truly hands-off: no rules, grids or settings to manage
- Non-custodial with trade-only keys you can revoke
- Low entry price: $149 a year on Starter
- No performance fee
- Web, iOS and Android apps; several major exchanges
Watch out for
- 5%/yr on balances above $10k makes larger accounts expensive
- "AI" is undisclosed quant rules
- AUM, client count and track record are unaudited
- Trustpilot closed to new reviews; no independent rating
- Fixed Income 4–20% APY is a target, not a result
Stoic AI alternatives
| Alternative | Effort | Cost model | Why consider it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitsgap AI Assistant | Low | Flat from $29/mo | Picks bots for you; flat fee at any balance |
| Pionex | Low to medium | Trading fees only | Free built-in bots, but custodial |
| Cryptohopper | Medium | From $29/mo | Marketplace templates you can inspect |
| Plain DCA | Very low | Exchange fees only | See our DCA bots guide |
For everything we rank, start with our best AI crypto trading bots list. If hands-off is the goal, a simple recurring-buy plan may get you most of the way for far less; our DCA explainer shows how.
Final verdict on Stoic AI
Stoic AI does one thing well: it removes the work. Connect a trade-only key, pick a strategy and leave it. For a beginner with a few thousand dollars who would otherwise trade on emotion, that has real value, and the non-custodial setup is sound.
The 3.5 score in this Stoic AI review reflects what you cannot check. The AI is undocumented, the performance and AUM figures are unaudited, independent reviews are almost absent, and the fee structure punishes success: once you pass $10,000, you pay close to 5% of your portfolio every year whether the strategy wins or loses. Before you subscribe, read our evidence review on whether AI trading bots work and run your own fee numbers.
Frequently asked questions
Is Stoic AI legit?
Stoic AI is run by Cindicator Ltd, a Gibraltar company founded in 2015, and it never holds your funds: it trades your exchange account through a key with no withdrawal permission. Its claims of about $230M cumulative AUM, 20,000+ clients and a 6-year live track record are self-reported and unaudited. Trustpilot is closed to new reviews, so there is no independent rating.
How much does Stoic AI cost?
Starter is $24 a month or $149 a year for portfolios up to $2,500, Plus $39 or $239 up to $5,000, and Pro $66 or $399 up to $10,000. Above $10,000 you stay on Pro and pay an extra 5% a year on the value above $10,000. Over $100,000, special terms apply. There is no performance fee.
What does Stoic AI cost on a $50,000 portfolio?
On annual billing, Pro costs $399 plus 5% of the $40,000 above the cap, which is $2,000. That makes $2,399 a year, about 4.8% of the portfolio. On monthly billing it is $792 plus $2,000, or $2,792, about 5.6%. The strategy has to beat that just to break even.
Is Stoic AI really artificial intelligence?
Stoic markets itself as AI-powered, but its own site describes quantitative, rules-based algorithms developed by researchers. It does not disclose any machine-learning models, training data or retraining process. It is best understood as a managed quant strategy service, not a learning AI.
Which exchanges does Stoic AI support?
Binance (Global and US), Bybit, Coinbase, KuCoin, Crypto.com and Hyperliquid, as listed on stoic.ai in October 2026. The minimum is $500 for most strategies, and $1,000 for Meta and BTC Yield on Binance and for Meta on Hyperliquid.
Is the Stoic Fixed Income strategy safe?
No strategy is safe in the sense of guaranteed. Fixed Income is a funding-rate carry strategy with a stated target of 4% to 20% APY. That range is a vendor target, not a promise or a verified result. Funding-rate carry can lose money when funding turns negative or during sharp price moves, and the funds stay exposed to the exchange you use.
Keep reading
Sources and fact-check dates
We link to primary sources wherever possible. Dates show when the page was published or when we last checked it.
- Stoic AI homepage and FAQ (company, strategies, pricing, exchanges, security) · checked 2026-10-21
- Trustpilot: Stoic AI profile (new reviews closed) · checked 2026-10-21
- CFTC: AI Won't Turn Trading Bots into Money Machines · 2024-01-25
- SEC charges two advisers with AI washing (Press Release 2024-36) · 2024-03-18